SC: Ted Cruz Campaign Announces State Leadership Committee

May 5, 2015
Senator Ted Cruz speaks at the Silver Elephant banquet in Columbia, 5-1-2015.  Photo by The South Carolina Conservative Dot Com

Senator Ted Cruz speaks at the Silver Elephant banquet in Columbia, 5-1-2015. Photo by The South Carolina Conservative Dot Com

The Ted Cruz campaign has announced its initial leadership committee for South Carolina.

Among the committee members are State Representative Bill Chumley of Woodruff, Sheriff Ray Nash (Ret.), of Summerville, and State Senator Lee Bright of Spartanburg who will serve as Co-Chairs.

The 3 Co-Chairs are joined by 40 other various grassroots, tea party, and GOP conservative leaders from across the state.

As cited in the campaign press release below, the names represent a strong diversity of leaders from several 2012 presidential campaigns including Newt Gingrich, Rick Santorum, Michele Bachmann, Ron Paul, Mike Huckabee, and Mitt Romney.  Notably are Bill Connor of Orangeburg, an Army officer and Afghan combat veteran who served in 2012 as Rick Santorum’s National Security Advisor, and Javan Browder of Greenville who served as State Tea Party Coalition Co-Chair for Michele Bachmann’s 2012 presidential campaign after having served as the National Co-Director for the 2012 Campaign to Draft Jim DeMint (for president).

Presidential candidate, US Senator Ted Cruz being greeted by supporters at the SCGOP convention in Columbia, 5-2-2015.  Photo by The South Carolina Conservative Dot Dom

Presidential candidate, US Senator Ted Cruz being greeted by supporters at the SCGOP convention in Columbia, 5-2-2015. Photo by The South Carolina Conservative Dot Dom

Cruz was a speaker this past weekend at the two biggest political events in South Carolina, the annual Silver Elephant Banquet, and the bi-annual SCGOP convention where he spoke to thunderous standing ovations and was greeted by a large team of grassroots volunteers who worked the events for him.

Cruz recently swept 5 official GOP county straw polls as we previous reported.


Below is the press release from the Cruz campaign regarding its new leadership committee:




To the Cruz South Carolina Leadership Team,

It is my pleasure and honor to welcome such impressive and committed grassroots leaders to our team. With your help, Ted Cruz is going to perform very well in the Palmetto State primary, earn the Republican nomination, and become the next President of the United States.     

Cruz’s message continues to resonate with the people of South Carolina.  He won five straw polls conducted in Greenville, Spartanburg, Anderson, Dorchester, and Aiken counties , and received “the most enthusiastic responses from the crowd” at the State Convention this weekend, according to CNN.

As the First in the South primary, South Carolina is a pivotal place for a strong full-spectrum conservative like Senator Cruz.  Our campaign relies on bringing together a broad coalition of Republican voters, many of whom feel abandoned by party leaders in Washington.  Cruz will be the only candidate in the race that can unite traditional GOP voters, tea party conservatives, liberty supporters, and right-leaning independents.  He has demonstrated broad appeal from the social, fiscal and national security branches of our coalition by consistently fighting for the conservative values we share.

Make no mistake: the attacks are coming.  The political elites in Washington are desperately afraid of a candidate that upsets the status quo, and they will do everything in their power to distort Senator Cruz’s record to stop him. That’s why we have to be vigilant in aggressively promoting his message, growing his base of support, and showing voters that he has a proven record of fighting for us on the issues we care about most. From Obamacare, to gun rights, to amnesty, and traditional marriage, only Ted Cruz has stood up and led every time.

That is why we’ve built a team in South Carolina of courageous conservative champions.  Our diverse coalition of leaders reflects a broad base of support from across the Palmetto State, including Republican Party officers and elected officials, those in evangelical and homeschool circles, grassroots organizers, College Republicans, a leader of the Republican Liberty Caucus, as well as enthusiastic business owners and informed policy experts.  

Many of our leaders were actively involved with the last winner of South Carolina’s First in the South Primary, Newt Gingrich. Several members of our team helped successful campaigns in previous cycles like Rep. Ron Paul, Rep. Michelle Bachmann, Governor Mike Huckabee, Senator Rick Santorum and Governor Mitt Romney.  This diversity of backgrounds is an indication of our strength and full-spectrum support in the Palmetto State.

We have a long road ahead of us, but I am certain that our team will be successful if we clearly understand Senator Cruz’s vision.  As he noted in his announcement-day speech:

From the dawn of this country, at every stage America has enjoyed God’s providential blessing. Over and over again, when we faced impossible odds the American people rose to the challenge…The power of the American people when we rise up and stand for liberty knows no bounds. 

I want to thank State Senator Lee Bright, State Representative Bill Chumley, and Sheriff Ray Nash (Ret.) for co-chairing this team and bringing together this remarkable group of conservative grassroots leaders.

 I am ready to meet this challenge with you as we work to make Ted Cruz the next President of the United States.


LaDonna Ryggs

South Carolina State Director

Cruz for President


Cruz for President South Carolina Leadership Team


State Senator Lee Bright, Co-Chair, Spartanburg

State Representative Bill Chumley, Co-Chair, Woodruff

Sheriff Ray Nash (Ret.), Co-Chair, Summerville

Paul Anderko, Rock Hill

Javan Browder, Greenville

Debbie & Stephen Brown, Greenville

Renee Cannon, Summerville

Sandy Chiong , Lugoff

Lt. Col (promotable), Afghanistan War Veteran Bill Connor, Orangeburg

Scott Cooper, Edgefield

Cheryl & Allen Cuthrell, Piedmont

Dr. Glen Robinson, Greenville

Patsy & Vic Dabney, Camden

Kim Demer, Camden

Nse Ekpo, Irmo

Dr. Andrew Geer, Charleston

Reverend Mike Gonzalez, Columbia

Conway G. Ivy, Beaufort 

Monica Kidd, Mt. Pleasant

Elizabeth & Jay Kilmartin, Columbia

K.C. & Cherie Lombard, Johns Island

Steven Long, Boiling Springs

Dr. Susan E. Moore, Charleston

Lou & Patrick Nolan, Columbia

Mark Palmer, Rock Hill

Mary L. Pearson, Summerville

Alan Ray, Chapin

Robert Ryggs, Greer

Jarred Spencer, Cowpens

Janet Spencer, North Myrtle Beach

Teri Sullivan, Aiken

DeeDee & Bauer Vaughters, Aiken

Lisa & Chip Watson, Spartanburg

Leah Whatley, Charleston

Michelle Wiles, Duncan/Pickens

May 2015
« Apr   Jul »



Privacy Policy

WordPress SEO fine-tune by Meta SEO Pack from Poradnik Webmastera